The Republic of Poland is a country in Central Europe, bordered by Germany to the west, Czech Republic and Slovakia to the south, Ukraine and Belarus to the east, as well as Russia (Kaliningrad Oblast) and Lithuania to the northeast. Poland is the 6th biggest country in the EU, both in terms of inhabitants (38,5 million) and area (312 628 square km). Poland has been a member of the United Nations since 1945, NATO since 1999 and the European Union since 2004. In 2007 Poland joined the Schengen area, which is a group of European countries with no internal border control (applied to the zone limit instead).


  • Capital of the region
  • City rights in 1423
  • Poland’s 3rd largest city by population
  • Poland’s 4th largest city by area
  • Before 1989 – textile and cinematography industry center
  • Today – cultural, industrial and academic centre
  • Safe city

Łódź /woodge/, the former textile industry hub, boasts the legacy of 4 cultures: German, Russian, Jewish, and Polish, and today is a city of modern technologies that hosts important events and festivals. It is a metropolis where a landscape of industrial architecture mixes with modern office buildings, culture and sports venues. Łódź is a beautiful, historical and green city. It creates welcoming atmosphere and diverse environment. Staying in the centre of Poland makes it easier to travel. The city is surrounded by a network of motorways and expressways which provide excellent connections to different Polish and European destinations. (photo: Sebastian Glapiński, EC1)