The academic year at Polish universities consists of 2 semesters of 15 weeks’ duration.


The winter semester, 1.10.2018-17.02.2019

Starts on 1 October (classes start on 2 October) and lasts till 17 February, with a two-week break for Christmas holidays (24 December – 2 January) and with one-week vacation period in February (4-10 February). Winter semester examination session takes place between 21 January and 3 February. Make-up exams take place between 11 and 17 February.

The summer semester, 18.02-30.06.2019

Starts on 18 February and lasts till the end of June, with a one-week break for Easter vacations (19-23.04) and summer holidays from the beginning of July to 30 September. Summer semester examination session takes place between 9 and 30 June. September is reserved for make-up exams.

Days off

October 1st – Matriculation Day
November 1st – All Saints’ Day
November 2nd – Day off
December 24th – January 2nd – Christmas Break
April 19th-23rd – Easter Break
May 1st – Labour Day
May 2nd – Day off
May 3rd – Constitution Day
May 24th – The UL Celebration Day
June 20th – Corpus Christi